CLICK HERE to see all openings for your dates

Poor Bang for the Buck

Re: 306A on 56th street. Way, way to expensive for what you end up with. We called ahead to make sure the pool was running and warm, only to find out it was stone cold even after they assured us the heat had been on since November. The pool leaked, we had to add water for an hour every day. The pavers surrounding the pool were installed unprofessionally. All of the door walls were in dis-repair, they had to be dragged open/closed and the screens kept falling off. The master bath shower was moldy and the door leaked. The master bedroom carpet was excessively stained. The kitchen faucet requires replacement and was a pain to use. The furnishings are not as shown on the website, much more sparse and not as nice. The Weber barbecue was all rusted out. The power garage door did not come with a remote. The DVD player didn’t work and the remote operation of the TV cable worked backwards and required an visit from a technician to explain how the system worked (still backwards). We hauled our bicycles and supplies for our month stay in an enclosed trailer and called ahead to get permission to park the trailer on the driveway per the rental agreement. We found out during that call for permission that the Anna Maria Island code enforcement law requires trailers to be stored off property if they will be there more than 5 days. The AMV customer service manager was absolutely no help and she actually hung up the phone when asked about the situation and offered no resolution. We had to personally contacted Code Enforcement ourselves. On the day before we where to leave we brought the trailer back from off site storage so we could load it and we received a phone call that morning from AMV telling us to remove the trailer within 2 hours. This caused us to have to leave one whole day earlier that our contracted rental agreement. STAY AWAY!!!! Very poor management. AMV is only there for the property owners. Renters are treated like “Red Headed Step Children”.


Hello Betty and Lew,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay with us.  We are sorry that you feel like you overpaid for your rental and though we would love to look into the amount you paid, we are unable to as you have made your reservation with a Travel Agency and not Anna Maria Vacations directly.  Understandably, Travel Agents add a commission fee to your regular costs that we are not affiliated with.
Please note that all of our pool heat is set to 85 degrees in the winter months and our records show that no one called us to report any issues regarding the pool heat.  The pool is also serviced twice a week and the pool technician never reported anything being off with the pool or the pool heat.  The only issues reported by you during your stay were the blinds in the living room that were fixed the same day and the DVD that one of our maintenance guys showed you how to operate.  Our guests comfort is our main priority and we are available around the clock to ensure your stay is as you expected.   We are available 7 days a week 9AM – 9PM and have on-call staff available after 9 PM should any emergencies come up.


​Per our conversation with you prior to your arrival, the rental agreement that you have is with the Travel Agency you made your reservation with, not Anna Maria Vacations.  We advised you speak to the rental agent that you worked with and advised that though a trailer does not bother us, we have to check with Code Enforcement of the City of Holmes Beach.  Our Guest Services Manager checked with Code Enforcement and was informed that a utility trailer was not allowed on the property as it is a residential neighborhood.  Our employee did end the conversation with Lew, who was very belligerent and disrespectful and did not accept no as an answer and called Code Enforcement himself, who then, was told the same answer. Our guest services Manager asked Lew to have Betty, who was the contact person give us a call so we could sort the situation out.

Despite being told that the trailer was not allowed by city code on the premises, you chose to bring it down and violate the law.  Anna Maria Vacations protects and serves our home owners as well as our guests equally but we have to follow the rules and regulations set by Holmes Beach and will not break the law regardless of whom it may be for.  We provided you with all of the necessary information needed prior to your arrival and cannot take responsibility for the fact that you chose not to follow the city rules and regulation.  We believe that you are very fortunate to not have been asked much sooner to remove the trailer or were fined by the city, as you had the trailer illegally at the home for 26 nights.  Again, Anna Maria Vacations does not make laws and regulations of the island, we follow them.

We thank you for your feedback.


Recommended Rentals

1 & 2 Bedroom Vacation Rentals

Beachfront Vacation Rentals

Dog Friendly Vacation Rentals

FacebookTwitterYouTube Trip Advisor